Pork Tongue

I like to slip my friends some tongue... By that I mean pork tongue... I'm slipping it to them by telling them it's a roast.Ok... not really, but I did order my friend, Matt, some tongue tacos at a taco stand without telling him what they were. He loved them, by the way... Sorry Matt. I love, love, tongue. It is one of my very favorite foods. Beef tongue tacos are all the reason I need to make the 40 minute trip to my favorite taco truck, that sits outside of the Cat’s Cradle. It is like the best pot roast you have ever had in your life. I’ve made some beef tongue before, so I knew pretty much what to do with the pork tongue. I will say… beef tongue has a nice, healthy, red color. The pork tongues I got resembled the color of the fetal pig I had to dissect in high school biology. It looked green, sickly, and very dead. I will say that this was a bit off-putting, but I decided to go for it anyways.Pork Tongue1 Anaheim chili pepper.1 Onion2 carrots2 stalks celeryTry my tongue!

          First, roast the pepper at 375 F until the skin starts to blacken, blister, and separate from the pepper. Take the pepper out of the oven, wrap in plastic or foil, and set off to the side. Chop the other veggies, and cook them with a splash of olive oil on the stovetop until they become soft and translucent. Add about a half gallon of water, and drop in the package of pork tongues (there should be about 4). Simmer for about 4 hours. Remove tongue from water, slice each tongue so the appearance of the meat doesn’t freak anyone out. Remove skin from chili pepper, it should peel right off. Mince the pepper and add, along with a cup of the cooking liquid to a small saucepan. Reduce the liquid in half, and pour over the sliced pork tongue. Enjoy.

                So, the pork tongue was pretty good, not the best I’ve ever had, but very tasty. The sauce I came up with is nice. It has all kinds of savory character from the pork tongue stock, and a nice spicy accent from the pepper. It isn’t overly spicy, if you are scared of that. I prefer beef tongue, or at least pork tongue cooked by someone who is better able to cook it, but my dish was still pretty successful, and I did enjoy it!

About asdgasdf

sadfasdfgas
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Pork Tongue

  1. tora says:

    I’ll have to try this sometime… very soon. I love beef tongue, but I don’t eat pork tongue quite as often. I’ll have to make a trip to the Asian market and try out your recipe! By the way, I love the taco truck outside Cat’s Cradle too. There’s another one called Johnny’s that is also in Carrboro… if you are interested, take a look. I usually get their beef tongue, pork stomach, and lamb tacos. They also have a crepe truck Saturday mornings!

Leave a comment